Perfect Liars by Rebecca Reid
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Rating: 4/5

 

About The Book
They have it all. And they’ll do anything to keep it that way.
For fans of The Girlfriend and Liane Moriarty as well as TV hits Doctor Foster and The Replacement.
Sixteen years ago, best friends Nancy, Georgia and Lila did something unspeakable. Their crime forged an unbreakable bond between them, a bond of silence. But now, one of them wants to talk. One wrong word and everything could be ruined, their lives, their careers, their relationships. It’s up to Georgia to call a crisis dinner. But things do not go as planned.
Three women walk in to the dinner, but only two will leave.
Murder isn’t so difficult the second time around…

 

My Thoughts
This is the story of three school friends; Lila, George and Nancy; something from the past linked them together and now is time to meet again. Will their friendship survive their past?
I really liked this story but at the same time it was strange, how can you dislike your best friends? You have to admit is quite weird, these three woman will spend a night together after two years without seeing each other and instead of being happy and enjoy their time together they are trying to stab each other in the back constantly! This will make sense after we start reading their past, about their years together at boarding school and we will also know their background and family relations, none of them had it easy.
It was interesting reading the present of Lila, George and Nancy, how they moulded their lives around their “perfect” life or what they would ever dreamed of, but of course all of them have their own problems and struggles, because their past together made them change, but for how long will they be able to keep their past quiet? Is it time to let the truth out and face the consequences? Or they will be able to kill to have their “perfect” life a little longer?
The story is told during one dinner, and while we read how they strive to be the perfect guest/hosts we will read flashbacks from the past, the last year at boarding school were their friendship was easy, not perfect but not with a double side on anything, and showing their real character and ambitions. I can not say I don’t like how they are in the present, all of them have a dark side, but we can understand their need of changing, to simply protect themselves.
This had been a good read, original from the ones I am used to and with quite strange characters and situations that makes the reader want to know more and discover the truth.
Can you be the perfect liar?
About The Author
Rebecca is a freelance journalist. She is a columnist for the Telegraph Women’s section, works for Metro Online and has written for Marie Claire, the Guardian, the Saturday Telegraph, the Independent, Stylist, Glamour, the iPaper, the Guardian, Indy100, LOOK and the New Statesmen amongst others.
Rebecca is a regular contributor to Sky News and ITV’s This Morning as well as appearing on Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, LBC, BBC News 24 and the BBC World Service to discuss her work.
She graduated from Royal Holloway’s Creative Writing MA in 2015 and Perfect Liars is her debut novel.
Rebecca lives in North London with her husband.
Advertisements