The Good Messenger by John Simmons

Genre: Fiction
Source: Love Books Group Tours
Amazon

About The Book

1912: Tom Shepherd reluctantly stays for two weeks at Hardinge Hall. Mr and Mrs Hardinge are trying to arrange a marriage for their son Teddy to Iris, daughter of a local businessman. Tommy becomes the innocent messenger who delivers the secret arrangements.
Armistice Day 1918: The First World War has changed everything, especially the closeted world that Iris, Teddy and Tom existed in.
1927. Tom is now a journalist investigating the discovery of a baby’s bones in the woods around Hardinge Hall. Past and present move towards a resolution that might still bring everything crashing down.
John Simmons, author of the bestselling Spanish Crossings, delivers another powerful saga of love, deception and emotion. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker, William Trevor, and Sebastian Faulks.


About The Author

John Simmons is an independent writer and consultant. His current clients include Allied Irish Banks, Anthony Gold Solicitors and Marks & Spencer. John runs Writing for design workshops for D&AD and the School of Life. He also runs Dark Angels workshops. He has written a number of books on the relationship between language and identity, including The Writer’s Trilogy We, me, them & it, The invisible grail and Dark angels. He’s a founder director of 26, the not-for-profit group that champions the cause of better language in business, and has been writer-in-residence for Unilever and Kings Cross tube station. In 2011 he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the University of Falmouth in recognition of outstanding contribution to the creative sector. His most recent books are 26 ways of looking at a blackberry, about the creative power of constraints, and Room 121: a masterclass in business writing. In June 2011 John’s first work of fiction, The angel of the stories, was published by Dark Angels Press, with illustrations by the artist Anita Klein. He initiated and participated in the writing of a Dark Angels collective novel Keeping Mum with fifteen writers the novel was published by Unbound in 2014. John also write the compelling novel Leaves, which was published by Urbane in 2015. John is on the Campaign Council for Writers Centre Norwich as Norwich becomes the first English City of Literature.

Advertisements