2021 · Blog Tour · Book · Picador Books · Psychological Thriller · Random Things Tours · Review

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott – Blog Tour

Ready to discover another great book for this 2021? Take a look…

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Source: Random Things Tours
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Picador Books

About the Book

Megan Abbott is an award-winning author of noir fiction including Queenpin and Bury Me Deep (nominated for the Edgar Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize).
Her novel The End of Everything was a Richard and Judy selection and Dare Me was shortlisted for the CWA Steel Dagger. She is also the author of the gripping psychological thrillers, The Fever and You Will Know Me. She is co-writer of the smash-hit Sky Atlantic drama, The Deuce. Born in the Detroit area, she now lives in Queens, New York City.

My Thoughts

What to say about this book; a disturbing read but eye opening.
This is a book that you’ll love or hate; the story is about friendship, love and family. Toxic families and love; the doubts of being a teenager and the idillic friendship that believes in perfection.
This book is read like a 13 years old; so, even if it’s difficult sometimes to understand the emotions and feelings of our main character, Lizzie, will feel when her best friend, Evie, disappears.
The book talks about relationships between adult and teenagers; illicit? Probably, but seen with the young eyes seem something marvelous and exciting. This book reflects the different perspective of how these illicit relationships can be seen when you are young or adult; and that’s why this book is so important. It shows how the young ones see it as their first love, but as an adult, this could be seen as abuse.
The story is centered in a summer when Lizzie is copping with disappearance of her best friend, Evie, her need to know what happened and find her alive.
The book is told in a beautiful way even if it treats very difficult themes, never being explicit but the doubt and questions are always there…
This is a book to make you reflect what you’ve read and to be angry; we should protect our children, always.
Are you ready for “The End of Everything”?

About The Author

MEGAN ABBOTT is the Edgar award-winning author of seven novels, including DARE ME, THE END OF EVERYTHING and her latest, THE FEVER, which won both the International Thriller Writers and Strand Critics Award for Best Novel and was chosen one of the Best Books of the Year by Amazon, National Public Radio, the Boston Globe and the Los Angeles Times. Her stories have appeared in anthologies including Detroit Noir, Queens Noir and the Best American Mystery Stories of 2014.
She is also the author of The Street Was Mine, a study of hardboiled fiction and film noir. Her next novel, You Will Know Me, comes out in July 2016. She has been nominated for awards including the Steel Dagger, the LA Times Book Prize and the Pushcart Prize. Currently, she is working on developing DARE ME and THE FEVER for television. Megan is a staff writer on HBO’s forthcoming David Simon show, The Deuce.
Born in the Detroit area, she graduated from the University of Michigan with a B.A. in English Literature and went on to receive her Ph.D. in English and American literature from New York University. She lives in Queens, New York City.


One thought on “The End of Everything by Megan Abbott – Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.