2022 · Blog Tour · Book · Farrago Books · Fiction · Random Things Tours · Review

The Prize Racket by Isabel Rogers – Blog Tour

Ready to discover another great book for this 2022? Take a look…

The Prize Racket by Isabel Rogers

Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Farrago
Source: Random Things Tours
Rating: 4/5

About The Book

After a brief and disastrous Resident Poet episode, Stockwell Park Orchestra is invited to take part in a TV competition for classical music. For a £50,000 prize some competitors are tempted to stretch the genre to ‘crossover’ and beyond.
Can a full concert orchestra compete with jazz bands, horn quartets, harp ensembles, and Mrs Ford-Hughes singing in Portuguese with nine cellos? Or will the competition be derailed by the poet’s return, this time sporting live Ambient Sounds? The TV producers aren’t worried: they know a good fight means great ratings.
What was supposed to be a quirky diversion threatens to take over the orchestra’s rehearsals for their own concert, but discovering a voting scam means they must fix things in the TV studio first.

My Thoughts

I’ll start by saying that I love music, it’s always been part of my life and I really enjoy reading books about people that like me love it.
So, it was not difficult to fall in love with the Isabel Rogers story. Based in the Stockwell Park Orchestra, it’s surprising how the author has recreated perfectly the connection between the different musicians and their love for music. I know, there are always rivalries, it’s part of human nature, and makes the story more real and approachable.
This story will put our musicians in a difficult position, having to “fight” with music to win a big prize and having to uncover a voting scam in TV. 
This is not a mystery per se, the main story is the battle for the money; but not a proper battle, a battle with music and luck to win the public and conquer the money. Easy? None at all, but it’s really impossible to stop reading to discover how it all ends!
If you are looking for a book to disconnect and delight you with some music, this is your book. Also, this is the 4th book of the series Stockwell Park Orchestra but you can read it as standalone.
Are you ready to win at the “The Prize Racket”?

About the Author

Isabel Rogers writes poetry and fiction, but never on the same day. She won the 2014 Cardiff International Poetry Competition, was Hampshire Poet Laureate 2016, and her debut collection, Don’t Ask, came out in 2017. She had a proper City job before a decade in the Scottish Highlands, writing and working in the NHS. She now lives in Hampshire, laughs a lot, and neglects her cello.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.